Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Inspiration for the Motivational: “Boast Busters”

Everyone has had things that have made them want to boast and brag before. Maybe not to the degree the “Great and Powerful Trixie” would, but it’s human nature to want to take pride in our accomplishments. Maybe we made a good play on a sports team, or got one of the better grades in a class, or even something more mundane like made the best dish at a potluck or did a marvelous job decorating the house for a holiday. Like I said, maybe we don’t go around rubbing it in everyone else’s faces, but I’m sure we all like getting a bit of pride and praise for our successes and achievements.

While it’s important not to be a braggart, I think that what Trixie really pointed out was a bad character trait in this episode occurred when she found herself shown up and even saved by Twilight Sparkle: angry and spiteful. Although Twilight ended up rescuing Trixie and bailing her out from her own mistake, and did so graciously, never once rubbing her own talent in Trixie’s face, she still had nothing but hate toward her because she couldn’t stand her own pride being wounded.

Human pride can get pretty outrageous at times. Even when we’re fully in the wrong in a situation, shown up, or owe someone who has outdone us a deal of gratitude or acknowledgement, we can get so filled up with pride in ourselves that we try to find ways around it. Rather than “losing graciously” or “admitting defeat”, we make excuses: “You cheated!”, “I wasn’t ready!”, “You got me at a bad time!”, “That was just an accident!”, etc. If someone is insecure or thinks too much of their own abilities, they might rather want to hurt or lash out against someone else rather than take the blow to their ego.

In Proverbs 16:5, the Bible says: “Everyone who is arrogant in heart is an abomination to the Lord; be assured, he will not go unpunished.” At the bare minimum, as this episode illustrated, arrogance and pride can alienate people from you, because I don’t think anyone enjoys sitting around listening to someone else talk about how great they are. But in worse situations, it can lead to us becoming so full of ourselves that we can’t even accept a loss graciously; making us bitter, hateful, spiteful, and unreasonable. Certainly not filled with any of the things God has called us to be. Small wonder that there are so many sayings both in the Old and New Testament about the sin of pride.

And rest assured, if our pride leads us to believe we are without sin, the consequences for clinging to that are both tremendous and eternal.

Suggested Prayer: “Lord God, please forgive me for any arrogance, pride, selfishness, or boasting in my own life. Confront me with where in my life I am lording my talents or abilities over another or letting my own ego keep me from being the kind of person you wish for me to be, and help me to overcome my pride and embrace humility. And if my pride is keeping me from confessing any sin to you, please confront me with this as well so I may receive forgiveness and healing. Gratefully in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

