Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Inspiration for Today’s Devotional: “Swarm of the Century”

By the end of this particular episode, Twilight Sparkle and the rest of the Mane Six were feeling rather sheepish. They were so busy focusing on going about their own tasks and their own problem that they didn’t realize the solution was right in front of them all along, and trying to get their attention on a few occasions that they ignored. While, as I pointed out in my review, Pinkie Pie never came out and told them what the instruments were for, neither did any of them think to ask her. Or paid attention when she called the bug a “Parasprite” or why she didn’t want to be around it. So while they may not have been “blatantly obvious”, there were signs and warnings there that they should have heeded, and they ignored them…and in the end had to go through all of Ponyville being demolished along with countless other headaches.

Probably what went through all of their minds as they saw they had a great deal of rebuilding to do was wondering why they didn’t pay attention earlier when they could have spared themselves a lot of trouble.

Most people probably have times in their life they severely regret not paying better attention to warnings for. When I decide to save money now and wait a bit longer than the mileage on the sticker for an oil change, I deeply regret it when my car engine needs repair as a result. When my furnace breaks down at the onset of winter, I deeply regret not having it cleaned like the man who repaired it last time suggested. When an opportunity in the mail or at work comes and goes, I deeply regret not paying better attention to notices or the bulletin board. When I’m doing some sort of home repair or maintenance without experience and a neighbor tries to point out what I’m doing wrong and I don’t listen, I deeply regret when I end up making a bad situation worse and having to fork out extra money to have it fixed professionally.

However, there are far greater regrets than these. I have a family member who the last thing she ever said to her mother was a heated argument. Another one had been staying with her sick sister for days and had come home for a break, only for her to take a turn for the worse and pass on afterward. I’ve had a co-worker I once talked to be reported dead one day, and only after he passed on did I learn he shared common interests with me…and I never talked to him enough to find out about them. Or seeing people depressed or sad or troubled or needing encouragement, and only after parting from them do I think back as to what I could have said or done for them. The mere existence of a friend or loved one and the act of meeting them is in itself a “warning” that this might be the last time you get with them, because nothing in life is guaranteed.

The Bible is filled with warnings about avoiding sin and not missing opportunities to do good. Proverbs 14:12 reads: “There is a way that seems right to a man, but the end of it is death.” Ephesians 6:11 reads: “Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the scheme of the devil.” James 4:17 reads: “So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.” And John 3:18 reads: “Whoever believes in Him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the Name of the only Son of God.” These are only four out of multitudes. I could go through most of the Epistles and the books of the Prophets to find far more. The warnings are out there. It’s up to us to choose whether or not we will take time to listen to them. If we want to live a life of no regrets or, like the girls might be thinking as they slowly began to rebuild Ponyville, constantly kick ourselves for not paying attention.

And when it comes to the ultimate warning about Lord Jesus’ free gift of salvation, I pray that’s something we all will heed.

Suggested Prayer: “Lord God, thank you for the numerous warnings you place in the Bible for us: warnings about avoiding sin and evil, warnings about not neglecting to do good when we have the opportunity, and, most of all, warnings about the coming judgment on our sins and the promise of the Gift of Salvation. Open my ears and heart to receive these warnings that I might live fully and not spend my life, or the rest of eternity, regretting. Gratefully in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

And…

If you wish to accept God’s forgiveness for all your sins and receive his invitation for a full pardon, click the link below. It’s to a site by ACTS International, who I’ve read the “Daily Encounter” of for years. It kind of inspired me to do this. I think they’re better at “this part” than I am. 😛

ACTS Web Invitation

